The Month Ahead: February 2017

The January thaw always tricks me.  In my mind I’m always thinking, “Wow, that winter was a lot easier than I thought it would be!  Now to just coast on to spring!”  And then of course, the thaw ends, winter returns (because it hadn’t really left yet) and I’m left sobbing at my winter at all that (2 cm?  Just over 1?  Really not that much) snow that happened over night.

Schedule

February 2 – Useful Knitting Web Sites
February 9 – PhDs Update
February 16 – Knitter’s Almanac: February
February 23 – another cooking post I’m not quite sure about yet (thinking either bread or croissants? – if you want to read about either one of these put a comment down below)

On My Nightstand

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas on CraftLit
The Cat Came Back (Cool for Cats Book 2) on the CraftLit Premium feed
The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

I finished and completely loved The Martian by Andy Weir! Mark Watney is so sarcastic and snark, ugh! I love him. I also read Diary of an AssCan: A Mark Watney Short Story, which was posted on the WHSmith web site. It’s just a little quick read that takes place before the book. If you think you want to read The Martian maybe give it a quick read, or if you really like it give it a peak, but I wouldn’t go out of your way to find it. I also listened to Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly written and read by Anthony Bourdain. I like Anthony Bourdain, whenever I see him on tv I think I should try and remember to watch his show. The book was an interesting look in to a world I have only a vague understanding of, I mean, I know how to cook well enough that Lance and I don’t starve and have a couple of knock-out dishes I can pull off when we have guests for dinner but I only lasted one afternoon working at a restaurant in high school!

On My Needles

– still chugging along on the secret project I can’t talk about. I should be able to talk soon so bare with me!

I’m done my swatch-hat for January of the Knitter’s Almanac. I decided to make it short with a pom-pom but now I’m not liking how the pom-pom (too wimpy? not as full as I wanted?) turned out so I’m debating between making another pom-pom and really bulking it up or making the hat long. Or both… It’s done in that it’s off the needles but I’m not finished with it yet.

I have decided, however, not to knit the sweater out of that yarn. The yarn is fine to knit with, I still *love* the colours, but I’m spoiled and I think it’s too scratch for me, for a sweater. It’s fine to knit with, and the hat will get a lot of wear but, I think I would find the scratchiness too much for long wear at my wrists. Which is why we do swatches and test in the first place. So, not a success in that “Yay, I found the yarn for my sweater!” but in the gaining knowledge, improving skills kind of way… so still yay!

Leave a Reply

